Monterey

IMG_612217 Mile Drive

FullSizeRender (19)Lovers Point Park

FullSizeRender (18)

FullSizeRender (21)Perkins Park

FullSizeRender (25)

FullSizeRender (15)The Lone Cypress at the 17 Mile Drive

FullSizeRender (13)

FullSizeRender (20)

FullSizeRender (22)

FullSizeRender (14)

Just an hour or so away from home, Monterey was a perfect place for a spontaneous family day trip. We went early in the morning at 8 (alright, early for me at least), and my dad drove us first along the 17 mile drive along the shore. It was kind of a private little place– we had to pay to get inside– full of houses that cost more than all my organs combined. The mansions, homes to actors and politicians, were insanely beautiful and overlooked the calming waters kissing the cliffs; however, though as beautiful as it was, I rarely saw another person admiring the coast throughout my entire visit while I was walking along the trails! The entire community was so quiet that I could hear the wind swooshing through the foggy, chilly air. There is no doubt that the neighborhood is one of the best in California, but honestly, it may have been too divine for me! (Definitely also too, too cold haha!)

We then drove north to one of the more popular beaches in Monterey, and by then, the sun had come out to comfort us a bit. We stopped at Lovers Point Park to climb the rocks and admire the kayakers from afar, then took a stroll west on a trail right by the cliffs to Perkins Park. Usually on these trips, my cousin/best friend Alison would tag along, but she couldn’t make it that day, which made me a bit disappointed because I wouldn’t have someone close to chat with. While walking to Perkins, though, my dad and I just started talking about everything, from the periodic table to moving into LA soon, and I realized how much I appreciated these talks with my parents and sister. With life moving at such a fast pace, many of us (I am guilty, too) focus on trying to make new friends to expand our circle and getting our names out there, but often forget that life is created upon the love that is present in our families. With so much time to reflect on myself afterwards, I realized how truly thankful I was to have a family so supportive and encouraging and how dearly I am going to miss them. Monterey was a wonderful & beautiful place to visit for the day, and this trip has been extremely beneficial to my mental health. I will definitely be back during the peak of summer for the warm weather! 🙂

Aline xx

P.S. Hopefully, one day I’ll have someone else to take to Lovers Point other than myself :/

Leave a Reply

